Yom Kippur & Fall cooking

I have posted some of this before so I’m lumping it into one post 😊
I did a lot of cooking this week. For our Yom Kippur break-the-fast I made challah:

IMG_0312.JPG

IMG_0313.JPG
Using this recipe but I subbed the flour for a mix of whole wheat and garbanzo and subbed the sugar for dates and the maple syrup with OJ. I also halved the recipe since it makes two. You need more flour since the dates are sticky and it comes out really dense because of the flour. If you want it to be fluffy and more challah-like stay true to the original 😊 If you want healthy and still yummy make it my way!
I also made this butternut squash soup that is always a HUGE hit at our break-the-fast.

When I came home I made some food for me! This week I had broccoli and potatoes from my CSA and this is one of my favorite recipes.

IMG_0314.JPG
I served it with roasted potatoes.
I added kale with the broccoli.
I am not big on salt so I used less miso.
I subbed balsamic vinegar for the maple syrup.
I subbed coconut oil for the olive oil.
I used a whole sweet onion and made lentils from scratch.
I didn’t add any of the optional toppings except I did top with some baby greens.

The combo of the creamy tahini sauce and the miso sauce with the greens and lentils…oh my that’s yummy!!!!

Finally… This (this one is brand new):

IMG_0315.JPG
Squash Tofu Thai Curry
Inspired by this recipe
My version:
1 lb tofu, sliced into bite sized pieces
Coconut oil
1-2 Winter squashes (acorn, spaghetti, butternut, pumpkin, etc.)
3 T Red curry paste
1 can Coconut milk
1/2 cup Water
1 T Date Syrup (dates blended with water or coconut water)
1/2-1 bunch kale, torn into bite sized pieces
Basil (I used regular since I didn’t have Thai. Obviously Thai is best.)
Optional: top with peanuts

Roast the squash until it starts to get a little tender. Then once it is cool, chop it into chunks.
In the meantime, lightly pan fry tofu in a little coconut oil. Set aside.
In a big pan, mix the curry paste, coconut milk, water & syrup over medium heat. Add the squash and simmer for a few minutes, then add the kale and mix it all up. Once it is all cooked to your liking, toss in the tofu and basil and optional nuts and remove from heat. Serve with brown rice! It’s been way too long since I made Thai curry…and this is the perfect fall version! Yummy!

This entry was posted in Holiday, Recipes, Soups & stews, Tofu & tempeh, Whole Grains & Veggies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

