Tempeh burgers

20140728-203850-74330011.jpg
For the win!!!
So, this turned out really well. I started with the trusty NMA veggie burger formula .
Then I did something crazy. Instead of beans I used steamed tempeh!
Here is what I did:

Ingredients:
Coconut oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 cups diced veggies: yellow squash & kale (more squash than kale)
1 1/2 cups steamed crumbled tempeh (slightly more than 1 8 oz package. I steamed 2 packages for about 10 min and crumbled the leftovers over my potato salad. If you have no use for leftover tempeh just the one package should be fine.)
Liquid flavor: 1 T liquid smoke, 1 T tamari, 1 T balsamic vinegar
Spice: 1 heaping tsp paprika, 1 heaping tsp cumin, 1 heaping tsp chili powder, a few shakes of cayenne
1 cup dry base: I had cornmeal that needed using but you could also use chickpea flour or buckwheat flour or oat flour…
1/2 cup texture: 1/4 cup walnuts & 1/4 cup hempseed (any combo of nuts & seeds works here), a few basil leaves

Sauté onion, garlic & veggies in the coconut oil. Process with tempeh, liquid & spices. Next add the flour & nuts/seeds & basil and pulse until evenly distributed. Form 8 patties. Bake at 350 until brown & firm, flipping halfway.

I served them with steamed kale & chard and grilled squash, topped with sliced avocado and drizzled with tahini sauce:
Tahini
Water
Fresh squeezed lemon juice
Dash of cayenne

These would also be good on a bun if that’s your thing. You could even put ketchup & lettuce/tomato/onion and I bet it would be good! But the tahini sauce is better 😊 hummus good too. This is just a win win win win no matter what you do!!!

I’d say 2 burgers is a serving so makes 4 servings total but keep in mind I’m lifting a lot and building muscle mass. If you use a bun, or are less active, then maybe one burger is a serving!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Tofu & tempeh, Veggie burgers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment