Quinoa & sweet potato cakeburgers (with greens. Duh :P)

20140318-191618.jpg

20140318-191627.jpg

Here is what I started with.

The recipe calls them “cakes” but they are also burger-like. The only thing I changed was the oil. Instead of drenching them in oil I just sprayed the cookie sheet before baking them. They took a little longer to cook than the recipe said.

For the dressing I took out the oil and added a little vinegar & water plus I was generous with the tahini & lime & cilantro. It is very thick unless you add more liquid.

Then I served it over a bed of greens (raw spinach & lightly steamed kale…I mean only steamed for 1-2 minutes, just enough to take the edge off but still retain the nutrients and salad-like texture) and red bell pepper (raw, chopped) plus the leftover cilantro & scallions (because you have to buy them by the bunch…and the recipe doesn’t call for a whole bunch!)

If you are a burger person you could totally slap these on a bun, or just eat them plain with some lettuce, tomato, onion & sliced avocado…they’d also be delicious smothered in hummus!!! I think they are quite tasty…but then again I’m obsessed with sweet potatoes. I could live on sweet potatoes, bananas, and avocados…mmmmm 🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes, Veggie burgers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quinoa & sweet potato cakeburgers (with greens. Duh :P)

  1. Laura says:

    These sound really good – unique, flavorful and filling!

Leave a Reply

