Apricot ginger coconut oatmeal with goji berries

20140310-210247.jpg

I experimented with my oatmeal this weekend…here is what I did:

Serves 1

1/4 c oats & 1/4 c oat bran (or just 1/2 c oats)
1.5 c water
3 dried apricots, chopped
1 T goji berries
1 T hemp seeds
1 T dried coconut
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 mashed very ripe banana (I just chop it then mash it with the whisk in the pot while I’m stirring)

Put everything in a saucepan and bring to a boil then simmer until the water is absorbed, mixing frequently with a whisk.
Say a little prayer of gratitude, then enjoy! 🙂

Goji berries and hemp seeds are both nutritional powerhouses. The goji berries add great flavor to the dish & the hempseeds give a good texture. I felt that the ginger & cinnamon complimented the other flavors well. I’d say this one was a win!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

