Italian bean stew

20140105-151611.jpg
This weekend I made a delicious Italian bean stew from my new favorite site MindBodyGreen.
Here is the recipe!
I made it as prescribed except:
I used an entire bunch of Dino kale in place of the spinach.
I used a large can of crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce because I couldn’t find any without sugar.
I used rosemary in place of the garlic powder because I thought 5 cloves fresh garlic was probably enough and I like rosemary.
I used hemp seeds instead of chia seeds because that’s what I already had.
I just sautéed the onion & garlic first, and then put everything in the slow cooker and cooked for 5 hours then stirred in the chopped kale.

Mmmmmmmmmmmm 🙂

Update: Day 2 of eating this for lunch and I just have to say I love it. I was eating mindfully today as I was off work (-15 windchill is too cold for kids to go to school in VA) and I was really feeling the textures and experiencing the multiple levels of flavor and thinking about how yummy it was. I totally had my eyes closed and was getting all into it. I added some crushed chili pepper too since I like a little spice in my life 😉 This one is a keeper!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Slow cooker, Soups & stews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Italian bean stew

  1. Laura says:

    Looks delicious – and I love Dino kale in everything (almost)! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stews With An Italian Accent | jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

