Tempeh potato hash

The perfect weekend brunch!

20131130-135050.jpg
I know I know I really need to work on my presentation. It’s definitely not my forte. I get too excited about eating the food to make it look pretty! But I promise it tastes good. This one is serious yum. I surveyed the fridge and pantry after my Hanukkah party and found that I had extra potatoes & onion along with some guac, salsa & sour cream. I also happened to have tempeh, bell peppers & spinach. So I threw this together:

Serves 2

4-8 oz Tempeh, crumbled
About 2 lbs potatoes or sweet potatoes, chopped
Sweet or yellow onion, chopped
Oil
Red bell pepper, chopped
Spinach
Crushed red chili pepper flakes
salt & pepper
Top with cashew sour cream & avocado or guac & salsa

Sauté the onion and potatoes with the chili flakes, salt & pepper in the oil until starting to soften & brown, then add the bell pepper & tempeh. Cover if needed to soften the potatoes (you could also microwave them ahead to give them a head start). At the very end toss in the spinach. Serve topped with salsa, avocado or guac, and cashew sour cream! YUM!!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Tofu & tempeh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tempeh potato hash

  1. Laura says:

    I agree – Yum!

  2. Pingback: Merry Veggie Xmas! | veganmartha

Leave a Reply

