Roasted beet & quinoa salad with citrus dressing & goodies!

20131021-194608.jpg

20131021-194619.jpg

I started with this inspiring recipe from Dishing up the Dirt.

Instead of fennel, I used leftover broccoli stems! Since that’s what I had…waste not want not! But I’m sure the fennel would have been even better. Any winter squash would be good or carrots, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, what have you…

I also roasted some apples too since I was swimming in apples and I love roasting apples along with veggies YUM!

I jazzed it up & stretched it by doubling the recipe and serving it over spinach & topped with chopped raw apples, celery, cucumber, and green peppers (again, waste not want not, plus, YUM!!) and of course avocado & nutritional yeast! You could also add any of your favorite salad fixins like pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, dried fruit, etc.

Delicious nutritious and so hearty! The citrus dressing is super tasty. It’s a giant salad for not a lot of calories and packing a huge nutritional punch!!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Salads, Whole Grains & Veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

