Quick & Easy & Hearty Long Run Oatmeal

Sorry no photo but I just shoveled this down after my 7.7 mile run this morning before I had a chance to photo! 🙂 Here is the recipe I created:

1 1/4 cup water
1/4 cup oat bran
1/4 cup rolled oats
1 T ground flaxseed
1 T pumpkin seeds
1 T pecans
Dash of cinnamon
Fresh or dried fruit

Throw the water, oat bran & oats in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Simmer briefly, just until liquid is absorbed. Make sure you stir it a few times. Oat bran cooks very quickly so keep an eye on it so you don’t overcook it. It doesn’t take more than a few minutes. Then mix in the nuts & seeds (toast briefly first if you like to bring out the flavors…I just threw mine in raw) and the cinnamon and top with fresh or dried fruit. I did sliced banana because I’m a bananaholic & bananas are perfect post-workout fare, but feel free to add dates, raisins, apples, berries, whatever floats your boat!!
***If using dried fruit, throw that in with the water & oats & oat bran before cooking. Cooking it right in there will soften it and allow the sweetness to fully infiltrate the oats. Yum! Also use dried fruit sparingly–remember it is very high in sugar & calories!

Eat, enjoy, be full!!

Happy Sunday!! 🙂

20130924-103124.jpg

Update: I made a version of this today that I’ll call “Quick & Easy Comfort Oatmeal.” I’m home sick today…which NEVER happens!! My vegan diet keeps me healthy! But lately I’ve been under a lot of stress and not getting enough sleep…throw in 25 germ-factories (my beloved Kindergarten class 🙂 and even my superhuman vegan immune system can’t protect me 100% of the time! Diet & sleep & stress…major factors in staying healthy! In any case, I was up half the night with 102 fever but then I had the lovely morning lull after the fever breaks and was super hungry after the fever was burning all those calories! So I made the oatmeal like this:

1 1/4 cup water
1/4 cup oat bran
1/4 cup rolled oats
1 T raisins
1 T ground flaxseed
1 T pumpkin seeds
Dash of cinnamon
1 sliced banana

FYI this version has 385 calories if you use Bob’s extra thick rolled oats… With regular oats it is 365 calories (I recommend the thick oats…more nutritious, less processed!) (that is assuming a 100 calorie banana).

Throw the water, oat bran & oats & raisins in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Simmer briefly, just until liquid is absorbed. Make sure you stir it a few times. Oat bran cooks very quickly so keep an eye on it so you don’t overcook it. It doesn’t take more than a few minutes. Then mix in the flaxseed and pumpkin seeds (toast briefly first if you like to bring out the flavors…I just threw mine in raw) and the cinnamon and banana. Serve with hot cinnamon herbal tea!

Perfect sick day oatmeal!!!! Easy, light but hearty, warm & comforting…now I’m taking my medicine (kitty lap cuddles & TV 🙂

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

