Lean Mean Green Protein smoothie!

First day of school…what a day!!! Thank goodness I made myself a smoothie for lunch since I didn’t have time to actually sit down & eat!
Since I’ve been training for a half-marathon & doing Crossfit (more on that later) I’ve been looking for ways to sneak some extra protein in my diet.
Some great sources of protein:
Tempeh (13g protein per 150 cal) (if you haven’t tried it…it’s amazing. It is a soy product but it is considered one of the healthiest ways to consume soy. It is loaded with protein and delicious! Steam it or poach it and crumble in a salad, marinate it & grill or sauté it and serve it with a side of greens & veggies & whole grains…the possibilities are endless.)
Tofu (17g protein per 150 cal)
Edamame (18g protein per 180 cal)
Lentils (8g protein per 115 cal)
Peanuts/peanut butter (7g protein per 160 cal/7g protein per 200 cal)
Quinoa (4g protein per 127 cal)
Kale (6g protein per 100 cal–but that’s a lot of kale 🙂 smoothies & juices are a good way to pack in the kale!)
Any beans, nuts, seeds, whole grains, veggies…

I have started adding 1/2 serving of Vega protein powder to my green smoothies.

20130903-210316.jpg

20130903-210329.jpg

Lean Mean Green Protein Smoothie:
1 cup coconut water
1 banana
1 cup fruit
2 cups frozen kale or leafy green blend
1 T ground flaxseed
1 T pumpkin seed
1/2 packet of Vega protein smoothie powder (I photoed the vanilla but I actually like the original flavor best since I don’t want to add too much flavor to my already yummy smoothie)
Dash cinnamon

20130903-210722.jpg

This really gets you through the day even when you are exercising AND chasing 5 year-olds! 🙂

***NB: I tried the chocolate flavor and its AWESOME!!! Chocolate kale protein smoothie = mind body spirit ALL HAPPY!!! 🙂 Highly recommend!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Guidance, raw, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lean Mean Green Protein smoothie!

  1. Mandee says:

    Sounds like a great smoothie!!

Leave a Reply

