Deconstructed falafel bowl

20140218-184228.jpg

I saw this recipe and thought…cool! I love falafel but don’t like frying stuff! This is perfect! And it’s definitely a winner!
I pickled my own red onions (super easy just soak the sliced onions in vinegar…I used white wine vinegar…and a pinch of salt), I used quinoa & parsley instead of tabbouleh & baby spinach instead of lettuce.

This would also be yummy with avocado and/or roasted & spiced broccoli or cauliflower!
I happened to have store-bought hummus but I’d recommend making your own. Blend chickpeas, liquid from the can or water, tahini, garlic, lemon juice & salt, plus any add-ins you want like roasted red peppers, spices, etc. Play around with the amounts to see how you like it!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Salads and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deconstructed falafel bowl

  1. Laura says:

    Love falafel, but this bowl sounds even better! Yum!

  2. Pingback: Falafel | eJo

Leave a comment